The COVIDSafe app plays a critical role in tracing people and contacting them immediately who are uncovered to Coronavirus
About the app
The main objective of the COVIDSafe app is to reduce the spread of coronavirus. Operating in effective way we can find and contain the disruption for the spread of COVID-19 which means the Govt. can make a relax on restrictions by keeping Australia secured.
The application supports the territory and state officials to immediately contact people who are exposed to COVID-19. Also, the COVIDsafe app can trace the close contacts of COVID-19.
The COVIDSafe app accelerates the present manual process of tracking people who are in contact with any of their closed ones with COVID-19. By this, you’ll get contacted immediately if you are at hazard. This will slow the possibility of the spread of the virus to your family, friends, or to the community. If the results are positive for the tests the only authority who can access the information are the territory and state health officials. The only contact trace application approved by the Australian Govt. is the COVIDSafe app.
How COVIDSafe app works?
You have to provide your name, phone number, postcode, and range of your age during downloading the app. A confirmation message will be sent to your mobile and the installation will be completed. You’ll get a unique encrypted reference code created by the system.
One COVIDSafe app detects the other COVIDSafe installed devices with BlueTooth enabled. When the app detects another user the time, and duration of the contact will be noted. to be efficient, when you go to your daily business and family, the app should be in active mode. Daily notifications will be received to ensure the COVIDSafe app is active. The contact information will be deleted after 21 days from the day of contact.
When an app user tests positive for COVID-19
When someone is diagnosed with COVID-19 state and territory health officials will ask them or their parent/guardian who they have been in contact with. If they have the COVIDSafe app and provide their permission, the encrypted contact information from the app will be uploaded to a highly secure information storage system. State and territory health officials will then:
- use the contacts captured by the app to support their usual contact tracing
- call people to let them or their parent/guardian know they may have been exposed
- offer advice on next steps, including what to look out for, when, how and where to get tested, what to do to protect friends and family from exposure.
Health officials will not name the person who was infected.
Deleting the COVIDSafe app
The app can be deleted at any time. All the information from the app stored on the phone will be deleted. But the information stored in the secure information storage system will not be deleted immediately. It will be wiped-out just after the pandemic.